Celebrating 50 years of Nordic public health research

Celebrating 50 years of Nordic public health research

Time: 09.00 – 16.30, 17.10.22

Place: Scandic Hotel, Hamar, Norway. Sign up for the conferace her

Streaming: You can follow the celebration from your own office. Gather good colleagues and attend the conference here.

At this conference, leading Nordic public health researchers will reflect on the past, present and future of Nordic public health research. The speakers will touch upon a variety of issues, such as COVID-19, migration, health surveys, register data, methods, policy, health equity, and new research agendas within the Nordic region (see the full program below).

The occasion is the 50th celebration of the Scandinavian Journal of Public Health (SJPH), a leading Nordic public health journal, owned by the Nordic public health associations. The journal has played a key role in setting the research agenda in the Nordic countries and beyond for more than five decades.

«Do not miss this rare and unique opportunity to learn more about the successes and future directions of public health from the perspective of our speakers and of the SJPH. A special anniversary issue of the journal with contributions from Nordic researchers, including from our speakers, will be published and presented as part of the preconference. The issue will become available on the Scand J Public Health website two weeks before the conference: Scandinavian Journal of Public Health – All Issues (sagepub.com)«

Professor Professor, NTNU og sjefsredaktør, Scand J Public Health

The conference will be chaired by the leader of the SJPH executive board, Camilla Ihlebæk.


Camilla Martha Ihlebæk (chair): professor of public health, head of department of public health science, Norwegian university of life sciences, Norway. Leader of the Scand J Public Health Executive Committee.

Sakari Suominen: Professor of Public Health, University of Turku Finland and University of Skövde, Sweden. Present member and former chair of the Scand J Public Health Executive Committee, former Editorial member of Scand J of Soc Med.

Terje Andreas Eikemo, Professor of Sociology, Leader of the Centre for Global Health Inequalities Research (CHAIN) at the Norwegian University for Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway, E-i-C of the Scand J Public Health.

Charli Eriksson: Professor emeritus, guest researcher, Department of Public Health Sciences, Stockholm University, Sweden.

Peter Allebeck: Professor of Social Medicine at the Karolinska Institutet. E-i-C of the European Journal of Public Health. Former member of the Editorial Board and the Executive Committee of the Scand J Social Medicine/Public Health.

Finn Diderichsen: Professor Emeritus, Department of Public Health, University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Eero Lahelma: Professor Emeritus, Public Health and Medical Sociology. Department of Public Health, University of Helsinki, Finland.

Dina Heimburg: Assistant professor, Department of Public Health and Nursing, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Trondheim, Norway.

Mats Målqvist: Professor of Global Health, Swedesd – Center for Global Health and Sustainability, Department of Women’s and Children’s Health, Uppsala University, Sweden. Co-editor of the Scand J Public Health.

Signe Jervelund: Associate Professor, University of Copenhagen, Department of Public Health, Section for Health Services Research, Denmark. Co-editor of the Scand J Public Health.

Elisabeth Fosse: Professor of Health Promotion, Department of Health Promotion and Development, University of Bergen, Norway.

Anna Sarkadi: Professor of Social medicine and Public Health at the dept of Public Health and Caring Sciences, Uppsala University, Sweden. Chair of the Swedish Association of Social Medicine and Public Health.

Kirsti Malterud: Professor Emerita, Department of Global Public Health and Primary Care, University of Bergen, Norway.

Bernadette Kumar: Professor at the Empower School of Health, India and Affiliated Professor at Kathmandu University, Nepal. President of the EUPHA Section of Migration and Ethnic Minority Health. Co-chair of Lancet Migration.

For more information and the program, click here.

Vi bruker cookies for å kunne gjøre brukeropplevelsen bedre for deg